Omni168Brother John Rydgren:
Silhouette Segments/Cantata For New Life/Worlds Of Youth
Brother John Rydgren
64 track 2CD anthology

At the very zenith of Psychedelia and Christianity stands the imposing figure of Brother John Rydgren. An ordained pastor of the American Lutheran Church, Rydgren laid out a heady trip of lysergic spiritual philosophy. Sincere, profound and yet deeply playful, Brother John’s mesmeric baritone waxed poetic about the big questions – Love, Sex, Death, War and Drugs (and God's place in all this) – over a backbeat of fuzz guitars, sitars, avant choirs and go-go drums.

From 1966 onwards Brother John broadcast his widely syndicated radio show “Silhouette” across the U.S.A (and Vietnam), speaking directly to the Hippies, Heads, Jesus-Freaks and G.I.s in an engaging flower-power-patter.

His incredibly rare LPs “Silhouette Segments” (1968), “Cantata For New Life” (1967) and “Worlds Of Youth” (1966) were originally distributed only to radio stations and church groups. All are officially reissued here (in full) for the very first time. Remastered with copious extra tracks, exclusive liner notes and extremely rare photos, here at last is the true Gospel of Brother John Rydgren.

Right on…Brother John…

*Remastered from the original mastertapes 2012.
*Deluxe Edition 2CD in 8 panel digipak.
*64 mind-blowing tracks! All original recordings.
*Features the magnificent 28 minute epic “Cantata For New Life” – a psychedelic psycho-spiritual mass for choir, fuzz guitar, rock drums and Brother John!
*24 page full colour booklet with exclusive scholarly liner notes, rare photos and ephemera.
*For further background info:

CD1: ‘Silhouette Segments’ 2LP (plus ‘They Say’ LP)
CD2: ‘Cantata For New Life’ LP plus ‘Worlds Of Youth’ LP (and extra tracks)


1. Music To Watch Girls By
2. Personality Doll Of The Week
3. Mercy Mercy Mercy
4. Hippie Version Of The 23rd Psalm
5. Rinky Dink
6 An Offering Of Music
7. Disadvantages Of Life
8. Hippie Version Of Creation
9. Search It Out
10. Transistor Father
11. Plea Of A Lonely Girl
12. To Sir With Love
13. The Happening
14. Groovin On A Saturday Night
15. Dark Side Of The Flower
16. Dedicated To The One I Love
17. Christmas Montage
18. A Christmas Reflection
19. Portrait Of Christ
20. Sweet Home
21. The Lord Is My Shepherd
22. The Oil Painting
23. The Air Terminal
24. Butterfly
25. Here Lies The Church
26. Move Out In Style
27. A Simple Stroll
28. The Noise
29. Great To Build Something
30. The Disadvantages
31. A Beautiful Girl
32 – 51. 'They Say' (Cuts 1-20)


1. Introduction
2. Cantata For New Life
3. Epilog
4. News
5. Forgiveness
6. AWOLS Of Life
7. Pictures
8. Rhythm
9. Computers
10. Baptism
11. Martyrs
12. This Is Silhouette (Part 1)
13. This Is Silhouette (Part 2)

(P) Originally Recorded 1966-1968. All Rights Reserved By Shane Rydgren/The Estate Of John Rydgren

Executive Producer: Strictly Kev aka DJ Food
Executive in charge of CD reissue: David Thrussell
Layout and design: David K. Landis for Shake It Loose Graphics
Remastered 2012 by Warren Barnett at Mountain Moss Mastering

All titles licensed courtesy of Shane Rydgren/The Estate Of John Rydgren
This compilation (P) + (C) The Omni Recording Corporation 2012