Omni167Various Artists:
Freedom Is A Hammer
Various Artists
Conservative Folk Revolutionaries of the Sixties

In the tumultuous 1960s the powerful voices of Joan Baez, Bob Dylan, Phil Ochs and others shaped the political and musical landscape for many. Less known, but no less strident and artful, were the folk singers from the other side of town. For the very first time the hyper-patriotic voices of conservative folk music mavericks Janet Greene, Tony Dolan and Vera Vanderlaan are reissued and reappraised.

Janet Greene sings eloquently of the insidious communist threat (The Hunter And The Bear), Tony Dolan vigorously defends Senator Joseph McCarthy (Abolish, Abolish!) and Vera Vanderlaan reminds us that the price of freedom is preparedness and eternal vigilance (Freedom Is A Hammer).

Remastered with exclusive scholarly liner notes, interviews and rare photos/ephemera, this collection presents the acclaimed counter-counter-culture songsmiths Janet Greene, Tony Dolan and Vera Vanderlaan in all their righteous and right-headed glory.

*Remastered from the original mastertapes 2012.
*29 track CD. All original recordings.
*20 page full colour booklet with exclusive scholarly liner notes, rare photos, interviews and cold-war period ephemera.
*For further background info:

1. Fascist Threat
2. The Hunter And The Bear
3. Inch By Inch
4. Commie Lies
5. Termites
6. Comrade’s Lament
7. Poor Left Winger
8. Run
9. Abolish, Abolish!
10. Father Against Son
11. Join The S.D.S.
12. Cuba Will Be Free
13. Cry, The Beloved Country
14. Remember Bloody Budapest
15. Harry Pollitt
16. Ever Time You Turn Around
17. New York Times Blues
18. My Song In The Wind
19. Freedom Is A Hammer
20. Let’s Pretend
21. Hello World
22. Torch Of Freedom
23. I Sing ‘Cause I’m Happy
24. Get Involved
25. Don’t Bite The Hand That’s Feeding You
26. Stand Up And Be Counted
27. One From One Leaves Two
28. Red Fire
29. Freedom Is A Hammer (Album Version)

Tracks 1-8 performed by Janet Greene
Tracks 9-18 performed by Tony Dolan
Tracks 19-29 performed by Vera Vanderlaan

Original Chantico/Key/Century/Vanco Recordings
Produced by Del Casher, Tony Dolan and E. F Auchter

(P) Originally Recorded 1966-1968. All Rights Reserved By Janet Greene, Key Records/Stephen F. Knight and Vera Vanderlaan

Compilation Producer: Bill Geerhart
Executive in charge of CD reissue: David Thrussell
Layout and design: David K. Landis for Shake It Loose Graphics
Remastered 2012 by Warren Barnett at Mountain Moss Mastering

All titles licensed courtesy of Janet Greene, Key Records/Stephen F. Knight and Vera Vanderlaan
This compilation (P) + (C) The Omni Recording Corporation 2012