Omni165Emil Richards:
Stones/Journey To Bliss
Emil Richards
Original Albums plus 6 extra tracks in a Deluxe Collector’s Edition

Percussionist extraordinaire (and member of the infamous “Wrecking Crew”) Emil Richards was at the crucible of ‘60s pop and film music, playing on everything from the Beach Boys’ “Good Vibrations” to Jerry Goldsmith’s “Planet Of The Apes”. Less known, but utterly essential, are Emil’s own mid-late 1960s recordings of technicolor-jazz/early-electronics.

His mid-1967 LP “New Sound Element: Stones” is a revelation, an absurd psychedelic proto-popcorn-pop delirium delivered on clavinet, mallets and moog. Plasticized percussions compete with ring-modulated vibes over elastic bass and sci-fi synthesis in this edifying and thoroughly unique amalgam.

Also included are a number of tracks from his early-1967 LP “New Time Element” and his rare and mystical 1968 LP “Journey To Bliss” in its entirety. Remastered from the original master tapes for the very first official reissue and presented with exclusive new liner notes, scholarly original LP notes and rare photos. Plug in and freak-out.

*Remastered from the original Uni/Prestige mastertapes 2012.
*27 track CD. All original recordings.
*20 page full colour booklet with exclusive liner notes, scholarly original LP notes and rare photos.

1. Garnet (January)
2. Amethyst (February)
3. Bloodstone (March)
4. Diamond (April)
5. Emerald (May)
6. Moonstone (June)
7. Ruby (July)
8. Sardonyx (August)
9. Sapphire (September)
10. Opal (October)
11. Topaz (November)
12. Turquoise (December)

13. Georgy Girl
14. Happy Together
15. Hot Fudge Sundae
16. Jimmy
17. Havah Nagilah
18. Blues For Hari

19. Maharimba
20. Bliss
21. Mantra
22. Enjoy, Enjoy
23. Journey To Bliss (Part I)
24. Journey To Bliss (Part II)
25. Journey To Bliss (Part III)
26. Journey To Bliss (Part IV)
27. Journey To Bliss (Part V & VI)

Original Uni/Prestige Recordings
Produced by Marshall Leib and Bob Thiele

(P) Originally Recorded 1966-1968. All Rights Reserved By Universal Music (Australia) Pty. Ltd.

Executive in charge of CD reissue: David Thrussell
Layout and design: David K. Landis for Shake It Loose Graphics
Remastered 2012 by Alvin Lucia at The Iron Mountain Analogue Facility

All titles licensed courtesy of Universal Music (Australia) Pty. Ltd.
This compilation (P) + (C) The Omni Recording Corporation 2012