Omni159Grandpa Jones:
Everybody’s Grandpa/Sings Hits from “Hee Haw”
Grandpa Jones
(Original Albums Remastered and Expanded with Extra Tracks)

In our 2nd volume of rare and magnificent Grandpa Jones recordings we find Grandpa at the very peak of his powers. Released originally in 1968 and 1969 these two LPs feature the apex of Grandpa’s ‘traditional’ songwriting, balladeer and instrumental skills. Augmented by the best players of the era (including close friend and legendary picker Merle Travis) these tracks were originally compiled to coincide with Jones’ newfound popularity as a member of the “Hee Haw” troupe. It was an association that would bring great joy to many and incredible sorrow to Grandpa Jones himself.

Hear the unique stage-painted Grandpa wax rustic, poetic and elderly on L.S.D, barefoot education, passive smoking, combat fatigue, universal love and much, much more!

This deluxe collector’s edition presents two of his very finest 1960s albums, remastered from the original Monument master tapes with exclusive scholarly liner notes, rare photos and a clutch of extra excellent LP cuts and rare 45 sides.

*Remastered from the original Monument masters 2012!
*32 track CD. All original recordings. Most tracks have never been on CD before!
*rare B-sides and masterful album cuts!
*20 page full colour booklet with exclusive liner notes and rare photos!
*Volume 2 of a two Volume set of rare and magnificent 1960s Grandpa Jones recordings!

1. Are You From Dixie?
2. Steady Drips Of Water
3. Eight More Miles To Louisville
4. Banjo Am The Instrument
5. Springtime Comes But Once A Year
6. Goin' Down To The River
7. Heart Full Of Love
8. Night Train To Memphis
9. Don't Look Back
10. Falling Leaves
11. Old Rattler
12. Banjo Sam
13. Going Across The Sea
14. Old Blue
15. Mountain Dew
16. King Of The Cannon County Hills
17. Trouble In Mind
18. Pretty Little Devilish Mary
19. That’s All This Old World Needs
20. Smoke, Smoke, Smoke (But Not Around Me)
21. Bill’s Gonna Soon Be Home
22. I’ve Learned To Leave That To The Lord
23. I’ll Just Keep Living Along
24. The Valley Of The Never Do No Good
25. A Dollar Short
26. Coal Camp
27. Baby-O
28. Are You Sleeping Daddy Darlin’
29. Here I Am Makin’ Plans
30. Nashville On My Mind
31. Deep Dark Corners Of My Mind
32. The Mountain Man

Original Monument Recordings Produced by Fred Foster and Ray Pennington

Recorded in the Bradley Film & Recording Studio and the Monument Recording Studio, Nashville 1961-1973

Tracks 1 - 10 from the Monument LP SLP 18083 “Everybody’s Grandpa” (1968)
Tracks 11 – 18 from the Monument LP SLP 18131 “Sings Hits From Hee Haw” (1969)
Track 19 from the Monument 45 1043 (1967)
Tracks 20 & 23 from the Monument 45 1108 (1968)
Track 21 from the Monument 45 1069 (1968)
Track 22 from the Monument 45 1203 (1970)
Tracks 24 & 25 from the Monument 45 8528 (1971)
Tracks 26 & 29 from the Monument 45 8539 (1972)
Tracks 27, 28 & 31 from the Monument KZ 32939 “What’s For Supper?” (1974)
Track 30 from the Monument 45 8599 (1974)
Track 32 from the Monument 45 877 (1973)

Harold Bradley [guitar], Ray Edenton [guitar], Merle Travis [guitar], Joe Tanner [guitar], Joe Edwards [guitar], Wayne Moss [guitar], Ramona Jones [mandolin/backing vocal], Jerry Byrd [steel guitar and bass], Junior Huskey [bass], Buddy Harman and James Isbell [drums], Hargus Robbins, Floyd Cramer, Larry Butler and Norro Wilson [piano], Rita Faye Sinks [autoharp], Glaser Brothers [backing vocal], Anita Kerr Singers [backing vocal] & others.

(P) Originally Recorded 1961 - 1973. All Rights Reserved By SONY MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT

Executive in charge of CD reissue: David Thrussell
Layout and design: David K. Landis for Shake It Loose Graphics
Remastered 2012 by Alvin Lucia at the Iron Mountain Analogue Facility

This compilation (P) + (C) The Omni Recording Corporation 2012