Omni155Tom Dissevelt & Kid Baltan:
Song Of The Second Moon
Tom Dissevelt & Kid Baltan
(Original album Remastered and Expanded with 12 extra tracks)

Perhaps the most influential recording in the history of electronic music, Song Of The Second Moon is far more than an historical curiosity. For the very first time electronic music was conceived as popular music, an incredibly listenable mélange of jazz and concrete stylings. Composed by Dutch Philips Research Laboratories employees Tom Dissevelt and Dick Raaijmakers (Kid Baltan) between 1957 and 1961, Song Of The Second Moon’s dynamic and playful futurism would inspire legendary figures from Jean Jacques Perrey to Glenn Gould. Indeed, Stanley Kubrick would at one point consider the LP as the soundtrack for his epic film "2001: A Space Odyssey".

For its premiere reissue we present the rare stereo version of the album with a multitude of outtakes, alternate and mono versions.

The soundtrack to a charming and utopian future (that has yet to arrive).

Remastered from the original master tapes and presented with exclusive liner notes and rare photos.

*Remastered from the original Philips/Limelight mastertapes 2012.
*20 track CD. All original recordings.
*20 page full colour booklet with exclusive liner notes and rare photos.
*The original ground-breaking album plus outtakes, alternate and mono versions!

1. Song Of The Second Moon (stereo)
2. Moon Maid (stereo)
3. The Ray Makers (stereo)
4. The Visitor From Inner Space (stereo)
5. Sonik Re-Entry (stereo)
6. Orbit Aurora (stereo)
7. Twilight Ozone (stereo)
8. Pianoforte (stereo)
9. Night Train Blues **
10. Colonel Bogey
11. Song Of The Second Moon (original version) **
12. Orbit Aurora/Syncopation (alternate version) **
13. 12-tone Composition for The Skymasters (as used in Twilight Ozone/Intersection) **
14. Twilight Ozone/Intersection (early version) **
15. Song Of The Second Moon (mono)
16. Moon Maid (mono)
17. The Visitor From Inner Space (mono)
18. Sonik Re-Entry (mono)
19. Orbit Aurora (mono)
20. Twilight Ozone (mono)

**originally unreleased

Original Philips/Limelight Recordings

Produced by Tom Dissevelt and Dick Raaijmakers.

(P) Originally Recorded 1957-1961. All Rights Reserved By Basta Music/Dick Raaijmakers.

Executive in charge of CD reissue: David Thrussell
Layout and design: David K. Landis for Shake It Loose Graphics
Remastered 2012 by Warren Barnett at Mountain Moss Mastering

All titles licensed courtesy of Basta Music/Dick Raaijmakers.

This compilation (P) + (C) The Omni Recording Corporation 2012