Omni154Il Gruppo Di Improvvisazione Nuova Consonanza:
Niente LP
Il Gruppo Di Improvvisazione Nuova Consonanza
16 track LP

Founded in Rome in 1964, ‘Il Gruppo Di Improvvisazione Nuova Consonanza’ was a collective of noted and noteworthy composers who challenged the very structure and performance of music itself. Today the most renowned of its members would be film scoring genius Ennio Morricone (indeed “Il Gruppo…” performed on many celebrated Morricone scores of the 1960s and 1970s) but each contributor has an intriguing history in Italian music. The collective improvised live (according to strict exercises) and in the studio (recording for RCA, Deutsche Grammaphon, GDM and others). Come 1970, “Il Gruppo’ (as ‘The Group’) recorded “The Feed-back” (for RCA Italy), an insane amalgam of avant-improvization and motorik krautrock beats that, understandably, has become one of the most collectable LPs ever issued. In October 1971 ‘Il Gruppo’ returned to the studio to record a sequel. This is that record.

For reasons unknown “Niente” was never originally issued but one listen will convince that not only is it the sequel to one of the most sought after LPs of all time, but it is also by far its superior. Wildly accessible, brain-melting jams collide with smokin’ grooves in a hothouse of Italo avant-improv. You have been warned.

*first ever LP issue of this originally unreleased masterpiece.
*band members: Battisti D'Amario, Egisto Macchi, Ennio Morricone, Franco Evangelisti, Mario Bertoncini, Walter Branchi and Vincenzo Restuccia.
*official release remastered from the original mastertapes 2011.
*sequel to “The Feed-back”, a super-collectable LP known to change hands for upwards of $1500 a copy!
*deluxe LP issue with scholarly liner notes.

LP tracklist:

Side A:
A1 – Niente
A2 – Bambu
A3 – Bambu #2
A4 – Renitenza
A5 – Padrone Delle Ferriere
A6 – Toms
A7 – Sieben #2

Side B:
B1 – Mattatoio
B2 – Hei!
B3 – Antimilitarismo
B4 – Con Moto
B5 – Down
B6 – Sieben
B7 – Natale E Detroit
B8 – Cronometro
B9 – Bali

Battisti D'Amario, Egisto Macchi, Ennio Morricone, Franco Evangelisti, Mario Bertoncini, Walter Branchi, with drums by Vincenzo Restuccia.

Recorded in Rome at Fono Roma Studios, October 1971.

Original Cometa Recordings

(P) Originally Recorded 1971. All Rights Reserved by Cometa Edizioni Musicali.

Executive in charge of LP reissue: David Thrussell
Restoration and design by
Remastered 2011 by Alvin Lucia at The Iron Mountain Analog Facility

All titles licensed courtesy of Cometa Edizioni Musicali.

This compilation (P) + (C) The Omni Recording Corporation 2011