Omni152Dick Curless:
The Long Lonesome Road
Dick Curless
(original album remastered and expanded with 19 extra tracks)

Known as “The Baron of Country Music”, Dick Curless was a commanding vocal and physical presence. Possessed of a magnificent rumbling baritone, standing an imposing 6’ 3” and eye-patched (due to genuine health problems) Curless battled drug and alcohol addictions for much of his life yet left a compelling catalog of music.

The 1968 LP “The Long Lonesome Road” is perhaps his greatest album and is presented here in its entirety (including the bleakly autographical hit “Bury the Bottle with Me”) with 19 astounding extra cuts. They range from Curless’ chilling trucker anthem “A Tombstone Every Mile”, the stark “Foggy Foggy Dew” to rollicking barroom laments like “ Loser’s Cocktail” and the haunting anti-war ode “Old Bob Burton”.

Remastered from the original master tapes and presented with exclusive liner notes and rare photos.

*Remastered from the original Tower/Capitol mastertapes 2011.
*29 track CD. All original recordings. Many tracks first time on CD!
*20 page full colour booklet with exclusive liner notes and rare photos.
*2 great previously unreleased tracks!

1. You Can't Go Back Again
2. Wrinkled, Crinkled, Wadded Dollar Bill
3. Bury The Bottle With Me
4. End Of The Road
5. Just For The Record
6. Shoes
7. I Ain't Got Nobody
8. The Heartline Special
9. Bummin' On Track “E”
10. When Dad Was Around
11. A Tombstone Every Mile
12. Six Times A Day
13. Foggy Foggy Dew
14. Down By The Old River
15. Highwayman
16. The Wild Side Of Town
17. The Good Old Days*
18. Nobody Knows You When You’re Down And Out
19. It’s Nothing To Me*
20. Long Lonesome Highway
21. Goin' Down That Road Feeling Bad
22. The Lonesome Road
23. Loser's Cocktail
24. Woman Don't Try To Sing My Song
25. Travelin' Light
26. Stonin' Around
27. Been There People
28. Lazy Bones
29. Old Bob Burton

*previously unreleased

Original Event/Allagash/Tower/Capitol Recordings

Produced by Al Hawkes, Dick Curless, Dan Fulkerson, Buck Owens, Jack Clement, George Richey and Joe Allison

(P) Originally Recorded 1956-1973. All Rights Reserved By EMI Music (Australia) Pty. Ltd.

Executive in charge of CD reissue: David Thrussell
Layout and design: David K. Landis for Shake It Loose Graphics
Remastered 2011 by Alvin Lucia at The Iron Mountain Analog Research Facility

All titles licensed courtesy of EMI Music (Australia) Pty. Ltd.

This compilation (P) + (C) The Omni Recording Corporation 2011