Omni148Hank Snow:
Songs of Tragedy / When Tragedy Struck
Hank Snow
(2 original albums plus extra tracks)

Nobody does maudlin better than Hank Snow.

Here Hank’s deeply affecting vibrato graces beautiful tales of torment and woe. In fact, two whole albums of the tragic tales of prisoners, murderers, inebriates, bereaved parents and pet owners.

1958’s “When Tragedy Struck” mined a rich vein in country and folk music traditions, the tragedy song, a weeper delivered with just the right mix of pathos and theatricality. So successful was the LP that in 1964 a sequel followed, “Songs Of Tragedy”. For the first time both these albums are officially presented on CD, in glorious remastered sound with exclusive liner notes and rare photos.

No story is too macabre, no ending too bleak for the svelte baritone of Hank Snow.

*Remastered from the original RCA Victor masters 2011.
*25 track CD. All original recordings. First Official release on CD for these albums.
*20 page full colour booklet with exclusive liner notes and rare photos.
*Both Hank Snow’s classic ‘tragedy’ concept albums! Plus 2 rare extra tracks.

1. The Prisoner's Song
2. The Color Song
3. The Answer To ‘Little Blossom’
4. There's A Star Spangled Banner Waving Somewhere
5. Walking The Last Mile
6. Old Rover
7. The Prisoner's Dream
8. Put Your Arms Around Me
9. Your Little Band Of Gold
10. Rocking Alone In An Old Rocking Chair
11. Mother I Thank You For The Bible You Gave
12. Little Joe
13. The Letter Edged In Black
14. Old Shep
15. Prisoner's Prayer
16. A Drunkard's Child
17. Don't Make Me Go To Bed And I'll Be Good
18. The Convict And The Rose
19. Put My Little Shoes Away
20. Little Buddy
21. There's A Little Box Of Pine On The 7:29
22. Nobody's Child
23. I'm Just Here To Get My Baby Out Of Jail
24. I’ve Cried A Mile
25. The Runt

Original RCA Victor Recordings Produced by Chet Atkins
Recorded in RCA Victor’s “Nashville Sound” Studio, Nashville, Tennessee 1958-1966

(P) Originally Recorded 1958 - 1966. All Rights Reserved By SONY MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT

Executive in charge of CD reissue: David Thrussell
Layout and design: David K. Landis for Shake It Loose Graphics
Remastered 2011 by Simon Polinski at Laundry Goat Studios