Omni131Katie Lee:
Songs Of Couch and Consultation / Life Is Just A Bed Of Neuroses
Katie Lee
A Psycho-Satirical Masterpiece! First Time On CD!!!

Long ago, in a galaxy far, far away...the cults of psychoanalysis and psycho-babble were just a gleam in some twitching misfits eye. Here, those lucrative pseudo-sciences are lampooned to delirious effect. The teaming of folk-cabaret chanteuse Katie Lee with lyricist Bud Freeman and composer Leon Pober resulted in the 1957 swingin’ satirical masterpiece “Songs Of Couch And Consultation”. Numbers like “Repressed Hostility Blues” and “The Will To Fail” have, if anything, gained more traction in today’s over-analyzed, over-medicated world. Is it Tom Lehrer with curves? The product of sick minds?

The LP received rave notices and even spawned a sequel, 1960’s “Life Is Just A Bed Of Neuroses”. Both are presented here for the very first time on CD, in glorious remastered sound with exclusive liner notes, rare photos, ephemera and extra tracks.

*Remastered 2009 from the original master tapes!
*Deluxe packaging, 28 page full colour booklet with scholarly liner notes, rare photos, memorabilia etc.
*First official release on CD for ALL tracks!
*35 track CD! All original recordings!

1. Shrinker Man
2. The Will To Fail
3. The Guilty Rag
4. Stay As Sick As You Are
5. Hush Little Sibling
6. Real Sick Sounds
7. Repressed Hostility Blues
8. I Can’t Get Adjusted To The You Who Got Adjusted To Me
9. Schizophrenic Moon
10. Properly Loved
11. Gunslinger, (A Ballad For Adult Westerns)
12. It Must Be Something Psychological
13. Life Is Just A Bed Of Neuroses
14. Case History (“A” Loves “B” Loves “C”)
15. Why Johnny Why
16. Love That Man
17. Mental Blocks
18. Be Miserable
19. The Ballad For Group Therapy
20. We Must Adjust
21. The Insecure Tango
22. Don’tville
23. When I Was A Little Girl
24. The Get Well March
25. My Mother Chose My Husband
26. (Little Willie Found Some Dynamite)
27. Poor Miss Bailey
28. (Little Willie And The Cat)
29. The House Of The Rising Sun
30. Blow The Candles Out
31. Lotsa Money
32.(Little Willie In The Well)
33. The Frozen Logger
34. (Little Willie’s Sister Ruth)
35. Woman, Go Home

tracks 1-12 from the Commentary LP CNT - 01 “Songs Of Couch And Consultation” (1957) written and produced by Bud Freeman / music by Leon Pober
arranged and conducted by Bob Thompson
licensed courtesy of Lyla Pober/Vickers Music Co.

tracks 13-24 from the RCA Victor LP LSP - 2214 - “Life Is Just A Bed Of Neuroses” (1960) with Ray Martin and His Ochestra / produced by Lee Sapiro
Recorded in RCA Victor’s Studio A, NYC / engineer: Ed Begley
(P) Originally Recorded 1960. All Rights Reserved By SONY MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT

tracks 25-35 from the Specialty LP SP5000 - “Spicy Songs For Cool Knights” (1956)
production: Bud Freeman / recording: Bunny Robyn
licensed courtesy Katie Lee/Katydid Music

Executive in charge of CD reissue: David Thrussell
Layout and design: Richard Grant/I+T=R
Remastered 2009 by Don Bartley at Benchmark Mastering