Omni120Paul Clayton:
Sings Homemade Songs and Ballads / Folk Singer!
Paul Clayton
"Bob Dylan worshipped Paul Clayton" -- Anthony Scaduto, Bob Dylan: An Intimate Biography

Paul Clayton is the great “could have been” of folk music - the “missing link” between Woody Guthrie and Bob Dylan. Possessed of a strong voice and driving intellect he spent many years researching traditional songs and writing his own superb originals. Bizarrely neglected by history, Clayton is often cited for his profound “inspiration” on Bob Dylan yet his own sterling and pivotal recordings are all but forgotten. Among his varied and splendid discography the two LPs he cut for Monument Records are rightly considered the best and are presented here for the first time in over four decades. Highlights abound, amongst them the rousing openers Durango Jail and Last Cigarette, Who’ll Buy You Ribbons (later openly appropriated by Dylan as “Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright”), the moving Young But Growing and Life Is A Toil.

Both Joni Mitchell’s “Blue” and Dylan’s “It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue” are examples of songs by the feted and the famous rumoured to be about or dedicated to Clayton. Burnt out, professionally and personally, Paul Clayton tragically took his own life in March 1967 and this once bright star has waned until now.

Remastered from the original Monument master tapes with love and care both these LPs (and the four non-LP 45s also included) all make their definitive first appearance on CD here with rare photos and exclusive liner notes.

Please put your hands together for the overlooked genius of Paul Clayton.

*Folk classics!!!! As later recorded by Bob Dylan/The Byrds/Stonewall Jackson/Billy Grammer/ etc etc.
*Remastered 2008 from the original master tapes!
*Deluxe packaging, 20 page full colour booklet with exclusive notes, rare photos etc.
*First release on CD for ALL tracks!
*28 track CD! All original recordings 1959-1965! 4 non-LP singles included!.

1. Durango Jail
2. Last Cigarette
3. Pharaoh's Army
4. Bully of the Town
5. Love For Love
6. Long John (Long Gone)
7. On the Job Too Long
8. Who's Gonna Buy You Ribbons (When I’m Gone)
9. Pretty Peggy-O
10. This Morning She Was Gone
11. If She’s Gone (Let Her Go)
12. Young But Growing
13. Pay Day At Coal Creek
14. Silver City Bound
15. Green Rocky Road
16. Down By The Rio Grande
17. Gotta Travel On
18. San Francisco Bay Blues
19. Wild Mountain Thyme
20. Goin' On Down The Road
21. Spanish Is The Loving Tongue
22. Lie Down Betty
23. Cecil Gone In The Time Of Storm
24. Life Is A Toil
25. So Long (It's Been Good To Know You)
26. This Land Is Your Land
27. Yellow Bird
28. Kilgary Mountain

All Original Monument Recordings. Produced by Fred Foster.
Recording Engineers - Bill Porter, Mort Thomasson, Glenn Snoddy.
Recorded in the Monument Studio, Nashville, Tennessee.

All titles (P) 1959-1965 SONY BMG MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT.

Remastered from the original Monument master tapes by Simon Polinski at Laundry Goat Studios 2008.

All tracks appear on CD here for the first time.
Executive in charge of CD reissue: David Thrussell
Layout and design: Richard Grant / I+T=R

Special thanks to Jerry Wolverton for getting the ball rolling...