Omni115V/A -- Nashville Sputnik :
The Deep South/Outer Space Productions Of Jack Blanchard And Misty Morgan 1956-2004
V/A -- Nashville Sputnik
Like Joe Meek crash landed in Nashville!!!

Imagine if the flying-saucer that dropped legendary producer Joe Meek in London had instead taken a left turn and landed in Nashville U.S.A. The result might have sounded something like this.


Jack Blanchard and Misty Morgan will forever be remembered for the novel pathos of hits like Tennessee Bird Walk and Somewhere In Virginia In The Rain. But before the bright lights of stardom found them Jack and Misty were busy working underground, writing and producing superb cuts for a fascinating cast of characters and talents who are today, unjustly, largely forgotten.

Hear Jacqueline Hyde And The Moonfolk take a rocket-ship into outer (and inner) space, Rusty Diamond have an existential moment on the battle-front, Brad Wolfe investigate reincarnation and Joel Mathis evaporate into the past on his Time Machine amidst a carnival of other sonic wonders.

Once heard this disc will inspire sounds you've never heard before and thoughts you've never thought before.

Remastered with exclusive liner notes and many previously unreleased tracks all cuts make their definitive first appearance on CD here.

It's kind-a-country, kind-a-pop, kind-a-weird – so strap in…another world awaits!

*Remastered 2008 from master tapes, studio acetates, and other arcane sources!
*Deluxe packaging, 28 page full colour booklet with exclusive notes, rare photos etc.
*First release on CD for ALL tracks!
*30 track CD! All original recordings 1956-2004! Super-rare 45 only and previously unreleased tracks!!

1. Strange New World - Jacqueline Hyde and the Moonfolk (1965)
2. The Lonely Sentry - Rusty Diamond, with guest star Maryanne Mail (1965) *
3. We Walked This Road Before - Brad Wolfe (1971)
4. Time Machine - Joel Mathis (1971) *
5. Skellykins - Rusty Diamond (1966)
6. Yellow Bellied Sap Sucker - Hank Malcolm (1964)
7. Gemini - The Jack Blanchard Group (1964)
8. Lonely Bell - Jack Blanchard & Misty Morgan (1967)
9. Mary Turn Around - Hank Malcolm (1964)
10. Changin' Times - Brad Wolfe (1967)
11. I'm Hung Up On You - Rusty Diamond, the Country Nut (1965)
12. Boy With The Be-Bop Glasses - The Dawn Breakers (1956)
13. Hit Me One More Time - Jack Blanchard & Misty Morgan (1967) *
14. Let's Have A Hayride - Maryanne Mail (1965)
15. Cadillac - Jack Blanchard & Misty Morgan (1968)
16. Little Orphan Annie - Joel Mathis (1971)
17. Midnight Greyhound - Jack Blanchard & Misty Morgan (1967)
18. Here Today, Gone Tomorrow - Donel Austin (1973) *
19. New World - The Jack Blanchard Group (1964)
20. Runaway - Jacqueline Hyde and the Moonfolk (1965)
21. The King Of Hearts - Jackie Blanchard and The Rockin' Impallas (1960)
22. Journey's End - Jack Blanchard & Misty Morgan (1967) *
23. Monkey See Monkey Do - Hank Malcolm (1964)
24. The Love Habit - Jack Blanchard & Misty Morgan (1973) *
25. I'm Feelin' A Change in My Life - Donel Austin (1973) *
26. The Look Of Nothing - Tom Carlile (1974) *
27. Somewhere In Virginia In The Rain (Disco Version) - Jack Blanchard & Misty Morgan (1974) *
28. Don't It Look Like Georgia - Tom Carlile (1974) *
29. Dance of the Living Dead Chickens - Jack Blanchard (1993) *
30. A Weird Little Christmas - Jack Blanchard (2004) *

All titles mono except those marked * are stereo.

All titles licensed from Velvet Saw Records.
Restored and remastered by Jack Blanchard at The Music Hospital 2008

All tracks appear on CD here for the first time.

Executive in charge of CD reissue: David Thrussell
Layout and design: Richard Grant / I+T=R