Omni106Bobby Bare :
A Bird Named Yesterday / Talk Me Some Sense (Remastered with extra tracks)
Bobby Bare
Smooth Countrypolitan Pop with substance!

Bobby Bare is, in some ways, a deceptive artist. His smooth, beguiling baritone and accomplished Countrypolitan productions sometimes tend to overshadow the fact that he is an artist of immense substance. Two of his most impressive country-concept albums are presented here, lovingly restored and remastered from the original RCA Victor master tapes, with a number of rare and poignant extra tracks.

"A Bird Named Yesterday" was originally issued in 1967 and is, quite simply, stunning. Through humour, stark portraiture and heartfelt ballads Bobby Bare places himself in direct opposition to the ill winds of the modern world. "Somebody Bought My Old Hometown" is probably the closest Nashville has ever come to an anti-corporate diatribe and "They Covered Up the Old Swimming Hole" is a rant against the urban sprawl disguised as charming hick nostalgia. Smooth as silk, wise and warm, but with the dark heart of a Hillbilly Anarchist Provocateur, "A Bird Named Yesterday" is a revelation! "Talk Me Some Sense" is a brooding, nihilistic work, announced by a lonesome harmonica wail and over-brimming with lost souls and desperation. Recorded in 1965 (and released in 1966), it is as troubled (and confused) as the times it was borne from. "Passin; Through", "You Can't Stop the Wild Wind from Blowing" and "Heaven Help my Soul" all cast Bare as a loner, buffeted from town to town, in search of the things he can never find. Most tracks make their first appearance on CD including a number of very rare "45" only cuts!

A mighty and compelling collection.

Smooth as silk... but with the dark heart of a Hillbilly Anarchist Provocateur!!! First time on CD!
Deluxe collectors 16 page full colour package featuring original LP artwork and exclusive liner notes. All tracks are remastered 2006 from the original master tapes!
Compiled and curated by noted musician (Snog, Soma, Black Lung) and film composer (The Hard Word etc.) David Thrussell.

1. A Bird Named Yesterday
2. Recitation
3. Somebody Bought My Old Home Town
4. Recitation
5. Ode To The Little Brown Shack Out Back
6. Recitation
7. The Day The Saw Mill Closed Down
8. Recitation
9. The Air Conditioner Song
10. Recitation
11. I've Got A Thing About Trains
12. Recitation
13. The Old Gang's Gone
14. Recitation
15. They Covered Up The Old Swimming Hole
16. The Church In The Wildwood
17. A Bird Named Yesterday (Chorus Only)
18. Passin' Through
19. You Can't Stop The Wild Wind From Blowing
20. Got Leavin' On Her Mind
21. The Long Black Veil
22. Heaven Help My Soul
23. Talk Me Some Sense
24. It Ain't Me Babe
25. All The Good Times Are Past And Gone
26. What Color (Is A Man)
27. A Little Bit Later On Down The Line
28. Salt Lake City
29. (For A While) We Helped Each Other Out
30. When I've Learned
31. Sandy's Crying Again
32. When Am I Ever Gonna Settle Down
33. Don't Do Like I Done Son
34. The Law Is For The Protection Of The People
35. If There's Not a Hell (There Ought To Be)
36. The Town That Broke My Heart

All Original RCA Victor Stereo Recordings Produced by Chet Atkins, Felton Jarvis and Danny Davis.
Recorded in RCA's "Nashville Sound" Studio, Nashville, Tennessee 1965-1969.

Executive in charge of CD reissue: David Thrussell
Layout and design: Richard Grant / I+T=R
Remastered 2006 by Simon Polinski at Laundry Goat Studios
Premaster by Sony Music Studios NYC
All titles licensed courtesy of