Babes in Consumerland

1 • The Plug-In Drug
2 • Everything Is Under Control
3 • Adolph’s Library
4 • Bleak Is My Favourite Chic
5 • Otto Rahn
6 • The Corporate Homoerotic Cyclists
7 • The New Cocksucker Blues
8 • Soul Invictus
9 • 21st Century Lullaby
10 • Apocalypse Fatigue

CDMetropolis Records
Digital SingleEverything is Under Control

“Babes in Consumerland” is the new Snog album.

It is also the best album the band has ever recorded.

Coming a full 21 years after their debut left-field dancefloor hit “Corporate Slave”, “Babes in Consumerland” sees the band in transition as never before. Though not mentioned explicitly lyrically, band mastermind Dee Thrussell’s long journey to recently arrive as a transgender woman informs every wry musical gesture and plaintive lyric. Still possessed of a striking social conscience and the blackest of humours, “Everything Is Under Control” exclaims a reverie around social conditioning over a hefty shuffle. “Bleak Is My Favourite Chic” chronicles a troubled internal landscape over pogo beat, fuzz-punk bass and squealing analogue synths. Timely and provocative, “Apocalypse Fatigue” pleads for an end, as an EMS VCS3 chirps and a Fairlight CMI choir purrs.

Joined by dear friends and collaborators Atom TM, Felix Kubin, Ash Wednesday, John Justin Stewart (Grace Jones) and The City Of Prague Philharmonic Choir, this is electronic music as you’ve never heard it before - blindingly articulate, fearless and yet strangely accessible.  

2013’s incarnation of the legendary Snog is now an all female act, a powerhouse trio delivering slyly subversive electro pop.

You have been warned.

Snog are: Dee Thrussell, Samantha Sanders and Christine Arkley-Smith.

With Special guests: Felix Kubin (MS-20), Ash Wednesday (AKS), John Justin Stewart (Guitar), Ruby Q (Vocals), Klaus Liebezeit (Drums) and Atom TM (PS 3100).